Loading Events

« All Events

New Works Virtual Festival

December 4 - December 24


Featuring Luka Ray Kain (South Pacific), Mateo Lizcano (TrevorRadio City Christmas Spectacular), Mehret Marsh (TinaThe Lion King), Connor Mills (Kinky Boots), Mavis Simpson-Ernst (EvitaYou’re A Good Man Charlie Brown, A Little Princess), and Brynn Williams (13Chitty Chitty Bang BangBye Bye BirdieGrinch, In My Life, Spongebob Squarepants)!

The New Works Virtual Festival will stream 20 new non-musical scripts every day from December 4th – 24th of 2020 (19 plays, 1 teleplay) featuring the work of a diverse group of writers and all-star cast members. A 21st piece will be selected from holiday-themed submissions to be streamed on December 25th. The festival will be streamed on YouTube, Facebook and BroadwayWorld, donations encouraged, all of which will benefit the Actors Fund. The event received roughly 700 script submissions. The final 5 new works have been announced to round out NWVF’s lineup (barring the Holiday piece which is still to be determined).

Hope Villanueva’s “The QOL Mandate” tells the story of a post COVID-19 America in which all young men are forced to undergo vasectomies for population control and one Mexican-American single mother who secretly defies the procedure for her teenage son. The play explores what it is to be Latinx in America and will star Rebecca Brooksher, Olivia Coronel, Nataschia Diaz, Eliazar Jiminez, Genny Lis-Padilla, Mateo Lizcano, Francis Mateo, Mavis Simpson-Ernst, and Michael Yeshion. 

Also featured in the respective casts of the 20 readings will be Krystina Alabado, Amir Arison, Matthew Arkin, Jim Auld, Brittany Baratz, Christina Bianco, Taylor Blackman, Larry Joe Campbell, Miguel Cervantes, Kevin Chamberlin, Mary Chieffo, Bryan Terrell Clark, Carrie Compere, Eddie Cooper, Olivia Coronel, Lee Curreri, Carmen Cusack, Katherine Damisch, Samson Dube, Ali Ewoldt, Madeline Franklin, Ellis Gage, Alan H. Green, Tyce Green, Andy Grotelueschen, Tyler Hardwick, Elaine Hendrix, Philip Hernández, Rodney Hicks, Zach Infante, Daniel Jenkins, Rachel Elise Johnson, Oyoyo Joi, Patrick Oliver Jones, David Josefsburg, Luka Kain, Mykal Kilgore, Keith Byron Kirk, L Morgan Lee, Kate Loprest, Mehret Marsh, Marsha Mason, Samantha Massell, Jeff McCarthy, Joseph Melendez, Connor Mills, Joseph Morales, Myles Phillips, Kevin Pollack, Vincent Rodriguez III, Christy Carlson Romano, Jon Rua, John Rubinstein, Seth Rudetsky, Lindsay I. Ryan, Sharone Sayegh, Laura Schein, Thom Sesma, Adam B. Shapiro, Bart Shatto, Mavis Simpson-Ernst, Mary Stout, Tracie Thoms, Zo Tipp, Robert Torti, Michael Tourek, Kathleen Turner, Sam Underwood, Vishal Vaidya, Sal Viviano, Adrienne Walker, Nik Walker, Jon Patrick Walker, Richard White, Brynn Williams, Robert Wuhl, and more. 


December 4
December 24
Event Category: